Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from December 29, 2011

DO YOU UNDERSTAND THE STORY OF SOIL ...

The Story of Soil





Soil is an amazing substance. It is a complex mix of ingredients: minerals, air, water, and organic matter--the countless micro-organisms and the decaying remains of once living things. Soil is made of life and soil makes life.

To the farmer, soil is where crops grow. To the engineer, soil is a foundation to build. To the ecologist, soil supports and connects ecosystems. To the archaeologist, soil holds clues to past cultures. To craftspeople, like potters, soil provides clay to make things.

To the soil scientist, soil is all of these things.
The Skin of the Earth

Soil has been called, "the skin of the earth." Because it is the thin outermost layer of the Earth's crust. Like our own skin, we can't live without soil.

What are some of the “services” that soil provides? Most of our food comes directly or indirectly from plants anchored and nourished by soil.Part of the oxygen we breathe is produced by plants living in the soil.Much of the water we drink and …

BASIC COURSE OFFERED OVER THE INTERNET FOR MANGO FARMERS WHO WANT TO UNDERSTAND SOIL ...

Fundamentals in Soil Science


An Online Course from the
Soil Science Society of America
Orientation Date:  January 9, 2012

Class Dates:  January 11 - March 28, 2012


Class Times:  7:00 to 9:00 pm Eastern/6:00 to 8:00 pm Central/5:00 to 7:00 pm Mountain/4:00 to 6:00 pm Pacific
Registration deadline is January 4, 2012


INDIA MANGO PRODUCTION BY STATE/REGION ....

*The India Map highlights major Mango producing states.

Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authencity of the same.
Mango Producing States in IndiaSTATE/UT'SMANGOAreaProd.ANDAMAN NICOBAR0.32.6ANDHRA PRADESH480.44058.3ASSAM4.646.5BIHAR146995.9CHANDIGARH00.4CHHATISHGARH