Skip to main content


Showing posts from November 7, 2014

USDA appoints new board members to the National Mango Board

November 07, 2014

Agriculture Secretary Tom J. Vilsack has appointed six members to serve the National Mango Board. 

The appointees include four new members and two returning members, who will serve three-year terms beginning Jan. 1 and ending Dec. 31, 2017.

The new board members are domestic producer Philip W. Barton of Pescadero, CA, along with importers Greg Golden of Mullica, NJ, Michael Shawn Allen of Sugar Land, TX, and Joella Shiba of San Diego, CA. 

Also appointed were foreign producers Enrique Sanchez Ramirez of Nayarit, Mexico, and Oscar Orrantia Morla of Guayas, Ecuador.

Mr. Golden and Mr. Sanchez are returning to the board to serve a second consecutive term.

Departing from the board are Bill Vogel, chairman, of Los Angeles; Veny L. Marti, vice chairman of Carolina, Puerto Rico; Wade Shiba of Missouri City, TX; and Bernardo Malo of Guayaquil, Ecuador.

"We are confident that the new appointed members will strengthen the board and help us move along the way on this new era of c…